Nostalgia come at me.

Nerdy Book Club

I participated this year for the first time in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge, started by Two Writing Teachers.  It was an amazing experience.  I personalized the challenge by writing about childhood memories because my fifth graders were writing memoirs.  In one memory, I wrote about my love of trees and playing in the woods when I was young.  I connected the memory to several books that featured trees, woods, or forests.  An idea for a Nerdy Book Club post was born!  Trees often symbolize life, knowledge, or spirituality.  Forests in fairy tales are usually dark, magical, mysterious places where journeys and quests take place in order to show transformations.  Trees in stories (and real life) are rarely just trees.  They take on meanings of all kinds.  Here are my top ten children’s and young adult books with trees, woods, or forests as a central element.

View original post 786 more words

